Prohibited & sanctioned jurisdictions

Jurisdictions of business, nationality or residence that are ineligible for a business account

Kate avatar
Written by Kate
Updated over a week ago

Prohibited and sanctioned jurisdictions

Other countries may differ on a case by case basis, according to other risk factors. If you are unsure, please contact us via our support chat or at and we will be more than happy to help you!

As a licensed financial institution, we strictly follow Anti-Money Laundering (AML) regulations which means certain factors will affect whether or not we'll be able to open an account for your business. These include where your business is registered, the company structure and its business activity.

Below you can find a list of jurisdictions concerning nationality or residence of directors and/or shareholders/UBOs that are ineligible to open a business account with us.

  • Afghanistan

  • Belarus

  • Bosnia-Herzegovina

  • Burkina Faso

  • Cambodia

  • Cayman Islands

  • Central African Republic

  • Crimea

  • Cuba

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo

  • Donetsk

  • Ethiopia

  • Gibraltar

  • Haiti

  • Hong Kong

  • India

  • Iran, Islamic Republic of

  • Iraq

  • Isle of Man

  • Ivory Coast (Côte d'Ivoire)

  • Lebanon

  • Liberia

  • Libya

  • Luhansk

  • Morocco

  • Myanmar

  • Nicaragua

  • Nigeria

  • North Korea

  • Pakistan

  • Panama

  • Philippines

  • Russian Federation

  • Senegal

  • Somalia

  • South Sudan

  • Sudan

  • Syria

  • Tunisia

  • Uganda

  • Venezuela

  • Yemen

  • Zimbabwe

For more information about the eligibility of your business, please read our article on Eligible industries and business types

Did this answer your question?